recipe for the weekend

This is a family recipe that my grandmother would make on holidays and special occasions (and sometimes, if you really begged and begged for it, on a random Tuesday).

Most people are familiar with the version of Monkey Bread that is sweet with cinnamon and sugar…. however this one is savory; filled with lots of buttery, yeasty goodness 🙂

Its an investment of time (several hours since you have to let the dough rise, beat it down, let it rise again, roll into balls, and then let rise again) but trust me on this, its WORTH IT!

My favorite childhood memory involving Monkey Bread… is my grandmother baking up a batch, my cousin and I grabbing two warm chunks of it, and enjoying it with an ice-cold Dr Pepper 🙂

Monkey Bread

2 packages dry yeast
3/4 cup plus 1 teaspoon sugar
1 cup milk, scalded
1 cup (2 sticks) butter, softened
1 teaspoon salt
3 eggs
6 cups sifted flour
1/2 cup butter, melted, cooled

1) Dissolve yeast in 1/4 cup warm water; add 1 teaspoon sugar. Combine milk, 1 cup butter, remaining 3/4 cup sugar and salt in large bowl of electric mixer. Cool to lukewarm.

2) Add yeast and eggs; beat thoroughly. Beat in some flour. Stir in enough flour to make a soft dough.

3) Turn out dough on lightly floured pastry cloth. Knead until smooth and elastic. Shape dough into ball; put into buttered bowl, turning to butter all sides. Cover and let rise in warm place until double in bulk, about two hours.

4) Punch down dough; turn out on lightly floured cloth. Shape into ball again; cover and let rest five to ten minutes.

5) Pinch off pieces of dough the size of golf balls. Roll in melted butter. Layer balls smooth side down in buttered 3 quart ring mold (bundt pan). When mold is is filled press gently to make fairly even on top. Drizzle any remaining butter on top. Cover and let rise until double in bulk.

6) Bake at 350 degrees 40 to 45 minutes ( cover with foil after 25 minutes if top is too brown). Let cool in pan 5 minutes. Invert on wire rack. Serve warm. Makes 1 large ring.

2 responses

  1. I'm originally from Chicago and while I grew up on homemade bread I never had Monkey Bread until I moved to LA. Sorry I missed out on it all these years! Thanks for the recipe.

  2. Boy was that great! I loved stealing away upstairs with that bread (and you!). I only wish I had appreciated how much trouble Emma had gone to, to make that bread, and maybe I would have left some for everyone else!

Leave a Reply

