New Year’s in a New Place: 2011/ New Orleans

On New Year’s Eve we drove from Mobile, AL to New Orleans.

We stayed at the Bourbon Orleans Hotel located at the intersection of Bourbon St and Orleans (hence the name) right in the middle of the French Quarter.

It was a lovely hotel… the exterior and lobby make it seem very “old world New Orleans” and are visibly stunning. The rooms were small and you could smell the stuffiness/humidity and age of the hotel; but overall we were quite pleased. Plus, it was just what we needed for our one night stay in the city. The location cant be beat– just know you will have to run the a/c at full blast upon your arrival to rid the moisture from the room (something I was used to for 21 years of my life living in Southeast Texas, but have since forgotten since living in Southern California and not having a/c at all). 

We had one of the most amazing meals of my life at NOLA (one of Emeril Lagasse’s restaurants).

my meal included:
– an appetizer of Barbecued Shrimp
– a shared first course of Pumpkin Bisque with a Pan Seared Scallop with Sea Salt
– an entree of Alaskan Halibut and Grits with a lemon-butter and black truffle sauce (also topped with shaved black truffles)
– Chocolate and Peanut Butter Cheesecake with Raspberry Sauce
and we shared a bottle of 2007 Rodney Strong Symmetry wine

it was, in all honesty, one of the most amazing meals I have ever enjoyed.
If you go to New Orleans and are willing to spend (without guilt!) half of a month’s rent on a meal.. do yourself a favor and go to NOLA.

we started off New Year’s Day with an amazing brunch at Brennan’s.

Even though I have been an avid vegetarian for nearly 5 years (well, technically, I’m a lacto-ovo-pescatarian) I went against my typical (and rigid) vegetarian diet and ordered the Turtle Soup as the appetizer of my 3 course prix fixe meal.
It was delicious! (It also reminded me of my grandmother… we used to frequent Brennan’s in Houston, Texas and she loved their Turtle Soup)
In addition to the soup, I enjoyed Brennan’s rendition of Eggs Flourentine and finished with their world famous Bananas Foster. I, of course, ordered a Mimosa to accompany my meal.

After breakfast we walked around New Orleans and enjoyed “real estate window shopping” (looking at houses/townhouses/lofts in the area, seeing what our Zillow apps said theyre listing prices were, and just enjoying the neighborhoods).

We ended up at Cafe du Monde and met up with some friends.

trust me, the LAST thing I needed at this point was MORE food and MORE consumed calories… but Cafe de Monde never lets me down and is a must-visit while in New Orleans. This marks the 3rd year in a row that I have enjoyed those tasty beignets during the holiday season, yum.

I love food, and I love the holidays… and I love that Aaron and I make it a point to travel to a new place each New Year’s.
(past years include: 2009/San Francisco edition, and 2010/Chicago edition)
who knows where we will end up for the turn of 2012?

Leave a Reply

