Famous Chocolate Chip Cookies

My cousin-in-law, Rebekah, has this amazing chocolate chip cookie recipe.
Now, I’m a big baker… I love to bake, I find it therapeutic…

Unfortunately, in my many years of baking: I have yet to discover a truly great chocolate chip cookie recipe. I have tried various ones found in magazines, cook books, cooking blogs… I have even tried the Neiman Marcus recipe (that has a funny [although not true] story behind it). None of which lived up to my cookie standards.

Enter Rebekah’s recipe. It is, without a doubt, the best chocolate chip cookie recipe out there. Which is why I have named it “Rebekah’s famous chocolate chip cookie” recipe.

I made half of a batch last Sunday for a football party we attended.
I made another half of a batch last night.
and Im making 2 FULL batches today: one for my dear friend Melissa who just had a baby, and one for me to take to my last day of work tomorrow.

If you are ever in the need of a homemade chocolate chip cookie, I strongly suggest you try this recipe:

Rebekah’s Famous Chocolate Chip Cookies
4 sticks REAL butter, melted (do not use margarine, margarine contains trans fat)
2 cups brown sugar
1 cup granulated sugar
4 eggs
beat these ingredients together until blended

add
4 teaspoons vanilla
2 teaspoons baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt
5 3/4 cups of flour (I use organic, whole wheat flour)
1 bag (or to taste) of semi-sweet chocolate chips

Bake at 350 degrees for around 8-10 minutes or when top is slightly brown
Yields: a LOT of cookies!

* Half-ing and even quarter-ing this recipe works just fine.
Also, it’s fine to freeze the extra dough and then just bake it in smaller batches.

enjoy!

Leave a Reply

