a weekend away.

Aaron and I ventured North to Pismo Beach and San Luis Obispo, California this weekend.

We stayed at the Pismo Lighthouse Suites, a hotel I highly recommend!
The rooms were large, comfortable, and clean with remarkable views of the Pacific Ocean.

[view from or hotel room]

after we checked in, we walked down the street to Ventana Grill with Aaron, his parents, and his brother.
Normally, I dont have very high expectations for restaurants ON the beach because they seem to rely on their ocean view to bring in customers, not the quality of their food.
However, Ventana Grill really surprised me!
Their menu had several delicious sounding, vegetarian lunch options which made for deciding on what to order difficult. I ended up getting the Mahi Mahi sandwich and it was great! For dessert we ordered their Tiramisu (now, I am a Tiramisu snob, the best Tiramisu that I have ever had was at a small, family owned restaurant in Kingman, AZ) and I am shocked to report that Ventana Grill’s was wonderful! I think their secret is that they soak their ladyfingers in the new Patron XO Cafe (which Aaron and I tried for the first time in Mobile, AL this past December with my parents).
I would drive the almost 3 hours to Pismo Beach just for that dessert.

After lunch we walked back to the hotel to get ready for Aaron’s cousins wedding.
It was beautiful and we all had a great time.

The next morning Aaron and I got up early so that we could walk to downtown Pismo and grab a soy latte and a pastry. Then we spend the next couple of hours walking along the beach taking in the beautiful scenery:

 [Aaron found a cave]

 [sitting on a rock, enjoying my latte]
 [view from the hotel’s viewing area]
[Aaron playing chess on the life-size chess board at the hotel]

 after walking around we came back to the hotel to get ready for Brunch at Lido Restaurant which is part of the Dolphin Inn Resort. Brunch was spectacular and the view was breathtaking. I could have sat on that patio drinking mimosas forever.

[taking in the view after brunch]

I highly recommend taking a trip to Pismo Beach. Its beautiful and peaceful… and I didnt want to come back to LA.

Leave a Reply

