the pacific northwest.

I have made no secret of the fact I want to leave Los Angeles.
I am so tired of this town. Dont get me wrong, there are some amazing things that LA has to offer (restaurants, beer, wine, great weather, and some beautiful scenery) but the overall exhaustion of living here is starting to take a toll on both Aaron and myself.

I was already in the process of figuring out how to move back to Chicago when I met Aaron. So, I put my plans on hold and… well, you know the rest. We have been together for three years and I’m STILL living in Southern California.

Aaron has always made it seem that while he was open to the idea of moving somewhere else, LA is where his career is so until he figured out what to do instead of film/television we would reside in Los Angeles. I completely understood and was prepared to make the best of LA for the long-haul.

Well, he’s finally had enough of this city too.
He’s ready to start a new life somewhere else.

One day, over a beer (shocker), we discussed the qualities/characteristics that we would like in the place we would move to.

Here is the list that we came up with:
– outdoor friendly (hiking trails, near a lake, river, or ocean, camp sites, etc)
– dog friendly (dog friendly restaurants, stores, dog parks, etc) since we take our dear Ziggy with us as much as we can
– has ample fresh produce/access to farmers markets/a blossoming “slow” and “whole foods” movement
– has a good yoga scene
– has a good craft brew and home-brew beer scene (Aaron has recently taken up the hobby of brewing his own beer)
– is a “foodie” environment with lots of great restaurants and various ethnic foods available
– is affordable (being able to purchase a house for $350,000 or less)

after much deliberation we narrowed down our list of possible cities to:
– Seattle, Washington
– Portland, Oregon
– Denver, Colorado

of course, Im all for moving back to Chicago, hell- I’d even move to Canada… but these three cities satisfy our list of “requirements”.

After looking at real estate online and interrogating our friends who either know the aforementioned cities OR have lived in them themselves, we narrowed the list down to two: Seattle and Portland.

No offense to Denver (I hear its lovely), but for the time being, it sounds like the Pacific Northwest is calling our name.

Now, here’s the kicker: Ive never been to Portland OR Seattle!
Aaron has spent time in both (for work) and loves them. He thinks Seattle is more “us” but he wants me to see both of them before we make any “huge, life altering decisions”.

So, we decided to go visit Seattle early next year.
We booked our flight and our hotel; so we will be in Seattle February 4th-7th to check things out.

We are planning on going to Portland sometime in March.
Although, I have to be honest, my gut tells me that I am going to fall in love with Seattle.

Funnily enough, I found a University (Bastyr University) several months ago that really caught my eye. Its a Naturopathic University that offers degrees in Naturopathic medicine, Midwifery, Chiropractic medicine, and Nutrition!
The school definitely peaked my interest. Not onlybecause of its programs, but the fact that the campus is “green” AND they have a yoga club!
and…get this….
its located in a Seattle suburb!

Aaron told me to apply for Fall 2012 “just to see what happens”.

Leave a Reply

