My 2011 in review:

What things did you do in 2011 that you’d never done before?
got married!
left the country for the firs time!
own a paid-off vehicle!

Did you keep your New Year’s resolutions, and will you make more for next year?
I honestly dont think I made any resolutions.

Did anyone close to you give birth?
yes, my good friend Melissa gave birth to our god-son Dexter on January 15th in Santa Monica, CA 🙂

Did anyone close to you die?
No, thank goodness. I had enough death to deal with in 2009 and 2010.

What countries did you visit?
Peru!

What would you like to have in 2012 that you lacked in 2011?
2011 was a pretty fantastic year. So, I’d like more of the same.
But, the ONE thing I would like more of? more drive and determination for school. Im having a hard time being as focused as I should be and Spring 2012 is going to be a difficult semester so I need to tackle that head-on.

What date(s) from 2011 will remain etched upon your memory, and why?
July 8th- the day Aaron and I “eloped” to the LAX courthouse
October 1st- our wedding celebration/reception
December 22nd- the day we left on our EPIC and AMAZING and LIFE CHANGING honeymoon to Peru.

What was your biggest achievement of the year?
getting decent grades, making some great new friends, staying healthy and active (leading a preventative lifestyle) thus improving my over-all health and well-being.

What was your biggest failure?
procrastinating. I never used to do this? what happened?

Did you suffer illness or injury?
not really. Just the typical cold or stomach bug, and occasional soreness from running or yoga.

What was your favorite purchase/gift of the year?
Hmm… my engagement ring? my Pink/Red Manolos? my black Louboutins? my fun “cocktail” wedding dress? my new Louis Vuitton Damier Canvas Neverfull? all of our camping/backpacking gear? our new Kitchen Aid mixer? my new golf clubs? our vacuum sealer? our Dyson? its hard to chose!
(yes, most of these were gifts)

Whose behavior merited celebration?
My parents- because they are awesome and 2011 would not have been NEARLY as amazing without them.
Aaron’s parents- because they, too are awesome and did SO much for us in 2011.
My brother- between helping with Ziggy, checking our mail while we were out of town, and just being there for us, he’s was a vital part of our 2011.

Our friends- we have some amazing friends and they have been there for us throughout the year and helped us more than they can even imagine (I would list everyone, but there is not enough time in the world to give all of them the proper credit)

Whose behavior appalled you?
people in general. when you live in one of the most populated cities in the country people can amaze you daily by their stupid, thoughtless, and ridiculous behavior.

Where did most of your money go?
rent. beer. wine. food. travel and Ziggy…. and we wouldnt have it any other way!

What did you get really, really, really excited about?
our wedding celebration, our trip to Juneau in July, our trip to Chicago in July, and our honeymoon to Peru in December!

What song will always remind you of 2011?
anything that was played on the party bus 🙂

Compared to this time last year, are you:
– Happier or sadder?
happier

– Thinner or fatter?
thinner

– Richer or poorer?
richer

What do you wish you’d done more of?
hiked, camped, traveled. studied.

What do you wish you’d done less of?
worried or stressed.

How did you spend Christmas, and what did you get this year?
We spent Christmas day beginning our 7-day trek to Machu Picchu!

What was your favorite TV show?
I started watching LOST on Netflix instant view, but only got through Season 2.
started Grey’s Anatomy on Netflix instant view and am currently engrossed in that.
I also finished The Wire- the greatest TV show ever created.

What kept you sane?
yoga.

What vacations did you take?
We started the year in New Orleans, LA, then drove back to Mobile, AL.
We went to Fresno several times this year.
We went to Juneau, AK in July.
we also went to Chicago, IL in July.
and then, we went to Peru in December 2011/January 2012.

Do you hate anyone now that you didn’t hate this time last year?
no, hating people exhausts too much time and energy.

What was the best book you read in 2011?
Into Thin Air- great book.

What was your greatest musical discovery?
Adele, Mumford & Sons (I think that was this year?)

What did you want and get?
everything. seriously. 2011 has been very generous to me!

What did you want and not get?
the only thing that I can think of is moving out of Los Angeles…. but it will happen in due time.

What did you do on your birthday, and how old were you?
went to a yoga class with Aaron, went to lunch at The Alcove, and then dinner at The Little Door. a perfect way to turn 27.

What three things would have made your year more satisfying?
hahaha. only 2 things:
more money and more time!

What political issue stirred you the most?
until it is completely legalized- the issue of equality and marriage for all will continue to stir me.
everyone deserves to marry the person that they love.

Who did you miss?
my parents.. they live too far away.
my grandparents… its weird existing in a world without them.
Chena… its hard losing one of your best friends, especially at such a young age.

What is a valuable life lesson you learned in 2011?
travel is more important to me than owning a house or buying material things.

What quote can be used to sum up your year?
“To eat is a necessity, but to eat intelligently is an art.”
– La Rochefoucauld

Leave a Reply

