running.

I have taken a bit of a hiatus from running.
2009 was a big running year for me. I ran a 5k in May, another 5k on the 4th of July, a 10k in August, and a Full Marathon in October.
2010 started with a half marathon in January, a half marathon in September, and ended with another half marathon in October.
Since October of 2010 my running has dwindled to a few times a month…. or even none at all.

BUT. its time to lace up the running shoes again because my mom, friend Sarah and I got into the half-portion of the Nike Women’s marathon via the lottery system! wahoo!

I am really looking forward to it. I am looking forward to the training process, I am looking forward spending a girls weekend in San Francisco in October, and I am looking forward to running through the wonderful city of San Francisco again. It will also be nice to add another Tiffany’s finishers charm to the two I already have. Its hard to believe this will be my third time participating in the Nike Women’s marathon (the half-portion twice, and the full-portion once).

Now the trick will be getting back into the training routing… without it affecting my yoga practice.
I’m bad about being a “one sport” kind of person. I was practicing yoga regularly until the 2009 training season started, then my practice started to dwindle due to my marathon training. Then, in 2010 I tried to be better about finding a balance but while I was training I didnt make it to a yoga class much, and then, when I managed to get my yoga practice more regular my running was affected.

This time around I am determined to have a healthy mix of both yoga and running.
Plus, yoga is such a great compliment to running. Its just a matter of managing your time well.

To kick off the training season I went to my favorite running specialty store to get a new pair of running shoes and a new water belt.

Here’s to finding a healthy balance of yoga & running… and to breaking in my new running shoes!

Leave a Reply

