my new favorite summertime breakfast.

I love Mason Jars.
I love oatmeal.
I love breakfast.
I love having a yummy, filling breakfast that I can eat at home OR take with me to school or on a roadtrip.
So, when I found out I could combine all of those great things into a refreshing and filling summertime breakfast, I was thrilled! 

I heard about “refrigerator oats” thanks to Pinterest… so I took the general idea and created my own little recipe:

Chilled Chia-Oatmeal

1/2 cup Rolled Oats (not instant, not steel cut)
1 tablespoon chia seeds
1 tablespoon brown sugar (can also substitute honey or agave nectar)
walnuts (or any other nut you may prefer) to taste
1 cup milk (I use Almond, but you can use Soy, Hemp, or cow’s milk)

Add all ingredients into a pint-sized Mason Jar, put the lid on, give it a little shake, and chill in the fridge overnight.

The next morning you will have a yummy, filling, healthy, and easy to take with you breakfast (that’s also environmentally friendly!)

pair it with a banana and you will be good-to-go until lunchtime!

Leave a Reply

