baking day (muffins and bread starter prep).

Monday was baking day.
I made two batches of muffins for the week and I prepped my white and wheat bread starters for bread baking day (which will be Thursday).

The first batch of muffins I made were Zucchini-Applesauce Muffins:

After trying several recipes, tweaking them to my liking, and lots of trial and error; I have finally come up with a recipe that I love:

Zucchini-Apple Sauce Muffins

Ingredients:
2 cups graded/shredded zucchini
3 cups whole wheat flour
1 cup organic granulated sugar
1 teaspoon baking soda
1 teaspoon salt
2 teaspoons cinnamon
1/4 teaspoon baking powder
3/4 cups unsweetened applesauce
2 large eggs
1/3 vegetable oil (can substitute walnut oil)
1 1/4 teaspoon vanilla extract

Preparation:
Preheat oven to 350*
Combine flour, sugar, baking soda, salt, cinnamon, and baking powder in a large bowl and stir well.
In a separate bowl combine zucchini, applesauce, egg, oil, and vanilla. Mix well. Add to dry ingredients. Stir until dry ingredients are moistened.
Line muffin pan with muffin liners, and add approx 1/4 cup of batter per muffin.
Bake at 350* for 17 minutes.
Cool on a wire rack.

*These can be frozen! Just take out of the freezer in the morning and by the time lunch rolls around or you need a snack they are defrosted and ready to be enjoyed!

My starters are well on their way to being ready for bread-baking day. These will soon be Rustic Ciabatta and Whole Wheat Sandwich bread!

[the fruits of my labor]

The second batch of muffins ended up being a disaster. I was trying for Oat Bran and Flax Muffins. Flavor wise, they turned out great; but texture wise they were a miss (too dense).
Ill continue to tweak this recipe until its a winner and then I will post it.

One response

  1. Seeing those starters, knowing they are alive and well and in your care, makes me soooo happy! I baked our first loaves here and although all the ingredients were brought with me from LA (except the fresh yeast) they taste very different here. The starters are much yeastier! Must be the Oregon air!

Leave a Reply

