cinnamon pear & apple-sauce.

We ended up with a lot of pears and apples after our last produce delivery. So many that I knew we wouldnt be able to eat all of them before they started going bad.

I had planned on making my go-to Pear & Apple Crumble….. but for some reason I wasnt really feeling it. Maybe it was because I had just baked a huge batch of Chocolate Chip cookies? or maybe I just wasnt in a crumble mood?

Instead, I decided to cut up the pears and apples, sprinkle them with a light coating of sugar, squeeze some lemon juice on them (to prevent them from oxidizing) and I let them sit in the fridge overnight.

Then, yesterday morning I put them in the crock pot along with some water, a tiny bit of brown sugar, and a cinnamon stick and I let them cook on low for about 6 hours. I fished out the cinnamon stick and then used my immersion blender to blend it all together.

The end result?
delicious Cinnamon Pear & Apple-Sauce:

Cinnamon Pear & Apple Sauce:

3 or 4 apples, cut into chunks (I left the skins on)
4 or 5 pears, skinned, and cut into chunks
granulated sugar (I eyeballed it, but I think it was about 1/4 cup)
juice from 1 lemon
1 tablespoon brown sugar
1 cinnamon stick
sprinkle of ground cinnamon

Toss cut up pears and apples in a bowl with granulated sugar and lemon juice.
Put contents into crockpot and add brown sugar, cinnamon stick, and ground cinnamon (to taste).
Cook on low for approx 6 hours.
Blend together.
Refrigerate.
Enjoy.

Leave a Reply

