my morning coffee.

I couldn’t agree more. Especially during the cooler months (and its finally getting cooler in Southern California). I absolutely love mornings that require being bundled up in a blanket or a hoodie and my not-very-cute-but-very-warm Ugg slippers with a hot cup of coffee in hand.

I am definitely a morning person. My younger self would have laughed at the thought that I would eventually enjoy getting up early and would do it voluntarily. I was never one that could sleep until noon or later (like so many of my high-school and college friends could) but I wasn’t one to pop up at 6 or 7 am either. My wake-ups hovered around 9 or 10am for most of my young adult life; but around the time I moved to Chicago my love for both coffee and mornings grew. I remember getting up early on the weekends so that I could go grab a latte and wander around the city before everyone else woke up and when I moved to Los Angeles I spent my weekends doing the same. Getting up early, stopping by Starbucks for my daily Triple Grande Soy Latte and wandering around my neighborhood for hours if my schedule allowed.

I was one of those people at Starbucks that the baristas knew. I would walk in and they would know my name, my order, and would even notice if I cut my hair. I went there every. single. day. and got the very same order each time. I’m going to admit, it was more about the experience than the quality of the latte. It was good, but there are so many other places that offer a better product. I just liked my daily morning routine with the added social aspect.

Once Aaron and I moved to our current apartment it was a little too far for me to drive to that same Starbucks every day. and the one near our new place wasnt nearly as easy to get to and the people wernt nearly as nice. Luckily, Aaron’s parents gave us an amazing espresso machine one Christmas that I instantly fell in love with. It is an incredible machine and probably one of my favorite appliances, ever. We use it each and every day and only go out for coffee on rare occasion.

So my morning routines have changed a bit over the past couple of years. Instead of getting up early and going to get my morning coffee fix at Starbucks; I am able to enjoy my coffee right in the comfort of my own home.  If I have somewhere to be (school, yoga, etc) I will get up extra early so that I have time to enjoy my cup of coffee (or two) while catching up on my favorite blogs, snuggling Ziggy, and maybe even doing a little online shopping 🙂

My morning coffee time really is my favorite part of my day.

And the cool thing is: if I decide I want to treat myself and go to Starbucks- I go to the same one I frequented daily… and they still know my name and my order.

Leave a Reply

