holiday recap, part two: Christmas.

Christmas was a little different this year.
Usually we spend Christmas in Alabama with my parents (with the exception of last year which we spent on our honeymoon in Peru) but this year we stayed in Los Angeles.

We also decided to forgo the fake Christmas tree and purchased a real one instead. I havent had a real tree in nearly 15 years, but now I’m ready to get rid of the fake tree entirely. The process of picking out our tree was fun and the added bonus of our house smelling like Christmas was enough to convert me.

Ziggy wasnt too fond of the tree at first; but he quickly warmed up to it. 

Christmas Eve:

Christmas Eve was spent prepping food for Christmas Day. I made cinnamon rolls from scratch, Aaron made homemade tamales and chili, and I baked two pumpkin pies. It was a long day… and I think Aaron and I did about 1,000 dishes before the prepping was done.

My brother drove up from Orange County after he got off of work and surprised us with a much-needed treat after a long day of baking. He was able to get his hands on a growler of Alpine Nelson IPA from Alpine Brewing……. and, we managed to finish the entire growler before we had to leave for our Christmas Eve dinner reservations at 6:30pm.

We had reservations at The Bazaar by Jose Andres a molecular gastronomy restaurant that’s located in the SLS hotel. Jose Andres mentored under Ferran Adria, the famed chef behind the [now closed] restaurant El Buli.

I was so excited to make reservations for our Christmas Eve dinner; and I was also glad that my brother was able to join us. It was, by far, the best meal Ive had in Los Angeles. Not only was the food delicious, but the service was impeccable, the environment was fun, and the whole meal was an experience to remember.

my Cairpirinha made with liquid Nitrogen
caviar and creme fraiche butter
enjoying our caviar on a steamed bun
lobster tail & brioche with a side of lobster bisque
rice krispy bar, caramel bon bon and dark chocolate pop rocks for dessert

Christmas Day:

Christmas morning we woke up, had our morning coffee and Facetimed my parents via my iPad. Then we put the cinnamon rolls in the oven and opened our Christmas gifts while the smell of cinnamon-sugary goodness filled the house.

My brother gave me the most beautiful OM necklace! I immediately put it on and havent taken it off since.
special thanks to my parents for my custom COFFEE WINE & YOGA tshirt!!

While I was frosting the rolls we decided to pop open a bottle of Founder’s Breakfast Stout. That’s right, we opened a beer at 9:30am… but, it is called a Breakfast Stout so we figured it was completely acceptable. Plus, it was Christmas.

The rest of the day was spent eating Aaron’s tamales (which turned out fantastic!), snacking on more cinnamon rolls and drinking. We opened up a 2011 Black Tuesday along with a Kern River Pumpkin Ale, and a Green Flash Imperial IPA.

In addition to our eating.. and drinking. We managed to lounge around the entire day in our PJ’s and watch practically the entire 2nd season of Breaking Bad. All in all, it was a fabulous Christmas.

Leave a Reply

