a birthday weekend.

so, this post is nearly a month late. oops.
I blame it on Spring semester starting and Aaron being on hiatus. ha

February is a busy birthday month. Not only is it my birthday (on the 9th), its my Dad’s birthday and my former roommate Ashley’s birthday (both on the 21st) and my Mom’s birthday is the 29th (leap year) however, since 2013 isnt a leap year, she celebrated on the 28th.

Luckily my birthday fell on a Saturday this year. Which meant I was able to have a day full of fun actually ON my birthday; instead of a day or two after.

my day started with a delicious cup of coffee & snuggling Ziggy while I shopped for shoes on my iPad.

my day started with a delicious cup of coffee & snuggling Ziggy while I shopped for shoes on my iPad.

for breakfast, Aaron made baked eggs and toast (with my homemade ciabatta) topped with Aaron's grandmother's homemade jam.

for breakfast, Aaron made baked eggs and toast (with my homemade ciabatta) topped with his grandmother’s homemade jam.

I was super excited about my birthday outfit (a custom made tutu!) but I had to send this photo so several friends, my mom and Aaron's mom to help me pick out which shoes to wear.

I was super excited about my birthday outfit (complete with a custom made tutu!) but I had to send this photo to several friends, my mom and Aaron’s mom to help me pick out which shoes to wear.

Aaron and I took a walk over to The Grove to grab a birthday donut from Bob’s Donuts (the donuts we had at our wedding in lieu of cake), we walked back home and then Aaron drove me to my appointment at the DryBar on Montana Ave. After my hair appointment, we ran a few more errands and then came back home so that we could shower and I could start the process of getting ready.

We had dinner reservations at Roof on Wilshire which is a restaurant and bar on the rooftop of the Hotel Wilshire. We became fans of chef Eric Greenspan’s after going to The Foundry; so when we found out he was behind the menu of Roof on Wilshire we knew we wanted to check it out. As it turns out, the Roof on Wilshire ended up being the perfect space for a birthday gathering as well. So it all worked out nicely.

IMG_2369

Screen Shot 2013-03-02 at 7.21.08 AM

invites via Paperless Post.

cocktails by the fire pit.

cocktails by the fire pit.

I went with the pink shoes.

I went with the pink shoes.

Dinner was lovely (I love that any menu associated with Eric Greenspan contains a grilled cheese!) and I am so grateful that so many of my friends were able to come share a cocktail with me on my birthday. The weather was a little chilly to be hanging out on a rooftop, but thanks to a few heaters and the fire pit I completely forgot that it was cold. While the Roof on Wilshire’s cocktails were a little pricey; they were tasty and everyone seemed to have a good time. It was nice having friends from several different parts of my life (yoga, school, my former career as a costumer, my former roommate, etc) all come together and have a fun evening.

Thanks to everyone that helped make my birthday so special!

Here’s to a great last year in my 20’s.
and, who knows how I will celebrate the big 3-0 next year….

2 responses

Leave a Reply

