Salted Caramel Chocolate Chip cookies.

I have been craving some homemade cookies. I havent had the time to bake any due to school, homework, studying, etc….. but since it was the weekend I figured I could find some time to bake while I working on my lengthy Lab Report for Biology. Taking breaks to step away from a Lab Report to bake some cookies sounded like a perfect idea.

I gave Aaron two options:
1. I could make Chocolate Zucchini cookies, OR
2. I could try out a new recipe and bake some Salted Caramel Chocolate Chip cookies.

He chose option number 2.

IMG_2544

IMG_2548

2b3d9950940d11e280ad22000a1fbe2f_7

Salted Caramel Chocolate Chip Cookies
(recipe from Zesty Cook who got it from Sallys Baking Addiction)

Ingredients:
2 cups + 2 tablespoons all-purpose flour (I used unbleached all-purpose; next time I will use whole wheat)
1/2 teaspoons baking soda
3/4 cup (1.5 sticks) organic salted butter, softened
1 cup organic light brown sugar
1/2 cup organic granulated sugar
1 organic, free range egg, at room temperature
1 organic, free range egg yolk, at room temperature
2 teaspoons vanilla extract
3/4 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips
16 wrapped caramels, cut into 4 or 5 pieces each (I used Trader Joe’s Fleur de Sel Caramels; make sure the ones you choose dont contain High Fructose Corn Syrup or Hydrogenated Oils!)
flaky sea salt

Directions:
Preheat oven to 325 degrees F.

Mix the flour and baking soda in a bowl and set aside.

With an electric mixer or stand mixer with a paddle attachment, cream the butter and sugars together. Add the egg, egg yolk, and vanilla and mix well. Gradually add the flour mixture and stir until a dough forms (may take a couple minutes of stirring). Fold in the chocolate chips (do not add the caramels yet). Do not over mix the dough at any point in this process.

Chill dough for at least 30 minutes (or overnight) in the refrigerator. Drop by tablespoonfuls onto un-greased baking sheet (I used a Silpat which made clean up a breeze). Press a few pieces of caramel onto the tops of the cookies. Bake for 8-10 minutes or until edges are slightly browned. The centers should appear very soft and puffy. Sprinkle each cookie generously with sea salt while they are warm.  Enjoy!

*Make sure to keep dough cold at all times while the batches are baking. I kept my dough in the refrigerator in between batches.

Makes about 2 dozen cookies.

3 responses

  1. These look amazing! I was in NYC 2 weeks ago, and had some of the best salty ice cream (weird, right?), at “Big Gay Ice Cream Shop”. I’m definitely gonna have to attempt a salty cookie… Yum!
    -JulieC

    • I LOVE salted caramel ice cream… or gelato. or… well, anything salted caramel flavor 🙂 Ive heard of the Big Gay Ice Cream Shop (and they have a food truck too, right?) I havent been to NYC since hearing about them though, but they are definitely on my list for my next trip.

      If you make the cookies let me know how they turn out!

      • Yes they do have an ice cream truck (from May – October), and you could follow them on Twitter if you’re ever in NYC. Or, they have shop in the West village and Easy Village (where I stayed- and would recommend!). Ahh, NYC- I miss it so much!

        I’ll definitely let you know if I make these! Happy Sunday!

        -JulieC

Leave a Reply

